Agartala | March 09, 2018

Manik Sarkar’s 20 yr-old rule as the CM of Tripura has come to an end officially today after BJP’s Biplab Kumar Deb took oath as the new Chief Minister of Tripura. The 48-yr-old has become the youngest CM of the state. BJP has ended the 25 yr old regime of the Left.

Biplab Kumar Deb, the 48-year-old Tripura BJP president, took oath as the Chief Minister of the northeastern state today at a grand ceremony which was attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP national president Amit Shah and party leaders. In the new government, senior BJP leader Jishnu Debbarma will assist Mr Deb as his deputy. The BJP’s arrival in Tripura following a spectacular electoral victory is being seen as a humiliating defeat for the unchallenged 25-year rule of the Left. The “historic verdict” — the BJP got out for nought in 2013 — dethroned four-time Chief Minister Manik Sarkar and demolished his almost impenetrable fortress.

Although the Left had officially boycotted the ceremony citing various post poll violence as the reason for the same, former CM Manik Sarkar was also present at the swearing in ceremony.

BJP President Amit Shah and senior party leaders arrived here on Thursday ahead of formation of a BJP-led government in Tripura on Friday in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, informed party sources here.

Apart from Modi, a host of Central ministers and leaders and Chief Ministers of several Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) ruled states attended the swearing-in-ceremony of Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb and his Council of Ministers. Rajasthan Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje has also confirmed her presence at the swearing in ceremony.

With this, Tripura has received its first ever BJP government.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here