Friday, February 21, 2020
Home Blog Page 239

Tripura: Inefficient officers face Chief Minister’s fury as govt. officials suspended for inefficiency


    From our Correspondent

    Agartala | March 13, 2018

    The newly appointed Chief Minister of Tripura Biplab Kumar Deb today terminated services of many government officers on spot following the years of low quality work done by PWD.  The CM was on a visit to Gandacherra and lost his cool after seeing the pathetic condition of the road, water supply and other basic amenities  there.

    ALSO READ: Meet 32-yr-old Santana Chakma, the only woman in Tripura’s ministerial cabinet

    ‘No bus comes here, no truck comes here but just because I visited today some amount of minimum repairing work has been done but this cannot cover up the loop holes”, said a fierce CM.

    A total of four employees including the BDO Prabir Debbarma, quality-inspector (involved in the work done) were suspended and the company which has done the work has been blacklisted.


    ‘No need of such officers! Inquiry will be done later, but first suspend them now’, instructed the newly appointed Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb to the DM who was accompanying the Chief Minister.

    Aadhaar linking deadline extended indefinitely till Supreme Court delivers verdict


      March 13, 2018

      The Supreme Court indefinitely extended on Tuesday the March 31 deadline to link Aadhaar with various services till a constitution bench hearing the matter delivers a judgment.

      Petitioners opposed to the mandatory linking of Aadhaar with bank accounts, phone numbers and other services had sought an extension of the deadline for such linkage.

      READ | Aadhaar- A sitting duck for cyber criminals, says RBI-backed research

      They argue that the mandatory linking of the 12-digit unique identity number with services will compromise an individual’s privacy.

      A five-judge constitution bench headed by Chief Justice Dipak Misra, however, said Aadhaar will continue to be mandatory for direct benefit transfers under social welfare schemes.


      In December, the court extended the last date for completion of the process to link Aadhaar with services to March 31.

      NIT Agartala ragging case: Demand for justice grows louder as case gets murkier


        Agartala | March 13, 2018

        After the brutal case of ragging that surfaced in NIT Agartala meted out to a 17-yr-old student from Arunachal Pradesh Dui Doji on March 11, a group of juniors from the same university have voiced their demands to provide justice to the victim. Sources have also informed TNT that the victim’s room mate has gone missing since the afternoon of March 13 and no body knows where he has been taken till the filing of the report.

        Speaking to TNT- The Northeast Today, Dui Doji’s sister Preeti Doje said, “There was a protest in the university demanding justice for my brother who was brutally assaulted by 15 to 20 seniors on March 11. My husband went to meet the director of NIT-Agartala following the suspension of one of the culprit Rituraj Tiwari. The director tried to strike a compromise with us but we disagreed. “.

        ALSO READ: Tripura: Arunachal student ragging case- NIT Agartala authorities claim ‘not a case of ragging’

        Almost 15 to 20 senior students were involved in the assault of Dui Doji as per his sister’s statement. She also went on to inform that they had filed an FIR in this regard but it was a shame to see that the university authorities have taken no strict action to curb the issue- neither did they file an FIR nor did they provide any medical aid to the aggreived on the day of the incident .

        DON’T MISS: Tripura: FIR filed in NIT Agartala ragging case after royal scion intervenes

        My brother is badly traumatized. It will be very difficult for him to continue in the same university further. We asked the dean to give us his Transfer Certificate from NIT Agartala so that we can get him admitted in an NIT of another state but the director does not seem to agree.

        Preeti also questioned the Associate Dean’s statement made to this media house earlier wherein he deemed the incident to be a mere altercation. She questioned, “How can a group of 15-20 students beating another student be called an altercation?”.

        ALSO WATCH: Last of the remaining GNLA insurgents surrender in Shillong

        It may be recalled that initially no FIR was filed in this case but after the intervention of Tripura’s royal scion, the police agreed to file lodge an FIR.

        A heavily traumatized Doje is currently undergoing treatment in Guwahati after suffering ruptured ear drum and multiple fractures.

        SBI lowers charges on non-maintenance of minimum balance to Rs. 15 from Rs. 50


          PTI | March 13, 2018

          Mumbai: The State Bank of India today reduced its charges on non-maintenance of an average monthly balance (AMB) in savings account by up to 75 per cent, effective April 1. The charges for non-maintenance of AMB for customers in metro and urban centres have been reduced from a maximum of Rs. 50 per month plus goods and services tax (GST), to Rs. 15 per month plus GST. The above revision will benefit 25 crore bank customers.

          For semi-urban and rural centres, the charges have been reduced from Rs. 40 per month plus GST to Rs. 12 and Rs. 10 per month plus GST, respectively, the bank said in a release.

          ALSO WATCH: 

          “We have reduced these charges taking into account the feedback and sentiments of our customers,” SBI’s managing director (retail and digital banking) P K Gupta said.

          “The bank has always focused on keeping the interests of its customers first and this is one of our many efforts towards fulfilling customers’ expectations,” he said.

          Also read: How safe is your SBI, HDFC, Axis, IDBI bank account among others?

          The SBI also offers its customers to shift from a regular savings bank account to basic savings bank deposit account (BSBD) on which no charges are levied.

          A customer always has the option of converting the regular savings bank account to BSBD account free of charge, in case he desires to avail basic savings bank facilities without being subject to maintenance of AMB, Gupta said.

          The lender has 41 crore savings bank accounts, out of which 16 crore accounts under the Pradhan Mantri Jan Dhan Yojna/ BSBD, and of pensioners/ minors/ social security benefit holders are already exempted from charges on non- maintenance of minimum balance.

          State Youth Congress leader quits as party vice president after poll defeat


            Tripura Daily Desk | Agartala, March 12, 2018: 

            Following the poor performance of the Indian National Congress (INC) in Tripura Assembly election, a leader of the Tripura Pradesh Youth Congress (TPYC), Hollywood Chakma tendered his resignation as the party vice president on Monday.

            Tripura: Polling for Charilam seat begins, 78.01 percent turnout till 4pm


              AGARTALA, March 12, 2018:

              Election for Charilam constituency of Tripura begins today. Check this space for live updates:

              Popular Posts

              My Favorites

              Tripura: Japanese encephalitis grips parts of state as woman detected with...

              TNT News | July 08, 2018 Ambassa: Within a span of just three months, Japanese Enchephalitis has spread its grip in Northern Tripura district of...